IBS Crest The Irish Benevolent Society of London
The Irish Benevolent Society, since 1877, has provided an opportunity in the London area for
the Irish and their descendants of all faiths, and their friends, to work together in harmony
for the purpose of preserving their Irish heritage and performing works of benevolence.

Home Latest News Events About Us Links Contact Us

Synopsis of the 3rd AGM held on Saturday, June 23rd, 2018

On Saturday, June 23rd, 2018, the Corbett Tavern at Fanshawe Pioneer Village was the site of the Third Annual General Meeting of the Members of the Irish Benevolent Society of London & Area. Shanna Dunlop, the Executive Director of Fanshawe Pioneer Village, welcomed the Members and thanked them for their ongoing support. Seventeen of the Society's current Members were present at the Meeting. Mary Cahalan, the Society's first female President (2010), installed Shaune MacLeod, as the Chair of the Board of Directors and President of the Society, only the third female to become such. Shaune outlined her vision for the Society's next year and particularly emphasized the ongoing quest for new Members. Past-President Laura Garner was thanked for her work during the past year and was presented with her Past-President's Medal by Charles Corbett.

The Secretary, James Hardy, reported that we had admitted nineteen new Members since last year's AGM, bringing the total membership to eighty-five. He stressed the need to continue to grow our membership, as did others. Membership in the Corporation is open to anyone who is of Irish descent, male or female, and is eighteen years of age or over, subject to approval by the Board of Directors. Contact the Secretary at jamesthardy@sympatico.ca for a membership application form or for further information.

Four Members were elected as Directors for a three-year term, as follows: JoAnn Leavey (C), Daniel Hardy (C), Douglas Reycraft (P) and Charles Corbett (P). The Members approved as Honourary Life Members and Honourary Life Medical Directors, Drs L.L. Barrie de Veber and Robert O. Farley.

Treasurer Charles Corbett presented a Report on the Finances of the Society and presented the Financial Statements for the Year ended December 31, 2017. The Treasurer emphasized the importance of maintaining the Capital and Endowment Funds of the Society, which are invested in Common and Preferred Shares, Long-term Bonds and Guaranteed Investment Certificates. The Income from these investments is used to finance the Donations, Bursaries and Awards that the Society makes on an annual basis, based on the criteria set out in the Society's Objects. The Members re-appointed Skrypnyk Professional Group as Accountants for the next fiscal year. Charles Corbett also reported on the function and activities of the Recording Secretary.

President Shaune MacLeod gave a verbal report on the March 17th, 2018 Luncheon, which though successful financially, encountered some logistical problems. The Report was referred to 2019 Luncheon Planning Committee for further consideration.

Shaune MacLeod presented, on behalf of the Harding family, a flag from Co. Tipperary. Charles Corbett reported on his (and Jane and Dianne Corbett) trip to Cloughjordan, Co. Tipperary for the 200th Anniversary of the Richard Talbot Expedition to Canada. Jane Corbett commented on the very successful Sponsorship program that occurred, as part of the March 17th Luncheon, raising some $2,700. She thanked the Members who took part in the program. A lively discussion took place on a number of topics, raised by Members.

The following are the Officers and Directors of the Society for 2018/19:

Immediate Past-President and Director — Laura Garner
President and Chair of the Board of Directors — Shaune MacLeod
First Vice-President and Director — Bob McNaughton
Second Vice-President and Director — Jim Nother
Third Vice-President and Director — Jane Corbett
Secretary — Jim Hardy
Treasurer, Corresponding Secretary and Director — Charles Corbett
Assistant Treasurer and Director — Doug Reycraft
Director — Peter Harding
Director — JoAnn Leavey
Director — David Corbett
Director — Ronan Heffernan
Director — Dan Hardy

Home | Latest News | Upcoming Events | About Us | Links | Contact Us | Legal Stuff
Copyright 2003-2015 © Irish Benevolent Society